2012-01-17 07:34:14Snipped comment repository
Daniel Bailey
Daniel Bailey
yooper49855@hotmail...
Snipped portion in red:
apiratelooksat50 at 07:22 AM on 17 January 2012

Puget Sound, Under Threat From Ocean Acidification, Put on "Waters of Concern" List
DB at 11
I will respect your interpretation and administration of the Comments Policy. I did not intend to make insinuations of ideology and impropriety, and am not sure that I did. My apologies if my statement came across that way.

Perhaps I should have used the word selective instead when referring to the press release issued by the CBD. The original research clearly lists natural and anthropogenic nutrient enrichment as the dominant cause of hypoxic and acidifying conditions in the bay. A reasonable attempt to estimate the amount and the impact of antropogenic CO2 is made. There premises have validity and as a scientist I think it justifies the need for further research.

However, the CBD press release only refers to the absorption of CO2 by the oceans and ignores the nutrient enrichment issue. This may not be entirely the fault of the CBD staffer who wrote the press release because they don't have a science background.

And, before that gets struck through or deleted, from an interview with one of the founders of the CBD, Kieran Suckling, published in the 12-21-09 issue of the High Country news:

HCN Were you hindered by not having science degrees?