2011-07-12 06:58:38Please allow me to rant!
Albatross
Julian Brimelow
stomatalaperture@gmail...

I posted the quoted text below on the Jeff Masters thread on extremes, but the moderators may rightly snip it. 

For once I have been able to speak to somethign at SkS that I am very well informed on (heck I did my MSc on hail), and it has been bizarre experience dealing with "skeptics".  What the hell compels "skeptics" to think that they can opine on everything? Since when did science become a free for all? 

It is impossible to debate them or inform them, because their understanding is so horribly shallow, their preconceived (and erroneous) notions so obvious, and becasue they refuse to learn even when an expert in the field tries to help them understand it.  Additionally, their posts often make so little sense, or are so internally inconsistent that it is impossible to detemrine what theya re trying to say or trying to argue.

You know, sometimes I follow other threads and the "skeptics" seem to have the people in the know tied in knots-- and sometimes I have (erroneously) thought "maybe the "skeptics" are onto something".  But after this experience, I now understand that the appearance of the expert or person in the know being "tied in knots" is because the 'skeptic' is being so incoherent and dogmatic and intentionally (or unintentianlly) persistently missing the point.

Anyhow, this is what I posted: