2011-07-02 05:45:20Chaos Theory & Climate Change
John Hartz
John Hartz
john.hartz@hotmail...

Given that the Earth's climate system behaves in a chaotic manner, can Chaos Theory be used, at least in part, to explain what,s going on?  

Do any of the climate models incorporate components od Chaos Theory?

Is the role of Chaos Theory addressed in any of the articles posted on SkS? (Based on a cursory serch, I suspect that the answer is "no".) 

2011-07-02 18:18:06short non-expert
jyyh
Otto Lehikoinen
otanle@hotmail...

AFAIK, all the models are "completely deterministic" so any chaotic results arise from the basic equations, which is why the modelers need to run several runs to get more robust results. The chaos inherent in the climate system is relevant in predicting local climates in short intervals, this is why the results of models are usually presented as 'average parameter during 2040-2060'. But I'm not an expert. I guess it might f.e. be possible to present a possibility some other location (than the one projected) will dry up based on chaos theory, but this would be a different calculation and not incorporated in the model. I guess this bugs the modelers quite a bit. Isaac Held's blog  has some more articles (#12 & #10 at least) on the models' performance in tricky subjects like chaotic behavior of weather and how they're showing in models.

2011-07-02 19:02:42
Dikran Marsupial
Gavin Cawley
gcc@cmp.uea.ac...