2011-02-14 06:10:50Too many SkS rebuttals?
John Hartz
John Hartz
john.hartz@hotmail...

The mini-brouhaha over the "Meet the dominator" post by Rob Honeycutt percipitated my decision to create this post. It's something that i have been mulling over for the past six months or so and most likely has been discussed prior to my becoming an SkS author.

As I see it, SkS's core mission is to provide qualtiy science-based rebuttals to myths generated by the Climate Denial spin Machine. Given that climate science is so dynamic, many of the rebuttals need to be refined and updated on a continuing and regualr basis as new and improved data and new findings are generated by scientists throughout the world.

Given the relatively small size of the SkS authors who are qualified to create new and update exisitng rebuttal arguments, does it make sense to generate so many new rebuttal articles? At some point, the author base will no longer be able to update and refine exisitng rebuttals in a timely manner.

Perhaps it is time to take a hard look at the list of exiting and pipeline articles to determine which can be combined? For example, is it really necessary to have more than one rebuttal series on the Medieval Warm Period? Another example  are the numerous articles with "CO2" in their title.  

From a SkS users' perscpective, the more rebuttal articles there are, the more difficult it becomes to navigate the labyrinth -- especially when authors do not take the time to create "Related Arguments" and "Further Reading" tabs. 

2011-02-14 09:35:22Maintenance and coverage
John Cook

john@skepticalscience...

This is an issue - I think many of the existing rebuttals could do with a bit of a birthday.

On the other hand, there are many arguments that vary around a central theme and yet have different emphasis that require a specific rebuttal. And it's handy having a link to a direct rebuttal rather than a general rebuttal that doesn't quite hit the mark.