2011-01-10 18:11:13questions re: terminology ~ Climate and Weather
citizenschallenge
Peter Miesler
citizenschallenge7@gmail...

Hello since this is my first post at this board I should introduce myself. I'm a high school grad class of 73, where I learned about climate science. College was out for me so I been a working man, but science and learning about the Earth under my feet has been a life long passion that I've kept up on, if at the laymen level.  Now that I have more free time I'm writing more, trying to add one more voice into the dialogue.  I want to thank John for inviting me to join this forum and to listen in to your discussions.

Peter

http://citizenschallenge.blogspot.com

I've been involved in the discussion at SkepticalForum and have been challenged with my use of terminology.  I've double checked these terms in the past and feel comfortable with how I've used them, but being called on it, it deserves a little more investigation.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

From the gent's post:

The words vector, trajectory, and momentum all have specific scientific definitions, none of which are applicable to climate.
    •    Climate does not have "mass", therefore it cannot have momentum.

•    Climate does not have "velocity", therefore it cannot have momentum.

•    Climate does not have a "magnitude", therefore it cannot have a vector.

•    Climate does not have a "direction", therefore it cannot have a vector.

•    Climate is not an object that moves through space as a function of time, therefore it cannot have a "trajectory".

If these fundamental scientific notions are not clear to you then you know less about scientific jargon than you claim.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~  ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Here are my thoughts for beginning my reply, but I'm wondering if anyone had any thoughts to share?