2010-09-06 16:51:17Diaspora of scientists and engineers
doug_bostrom

dbostrom@clearwire...

So many times I've read skeptical comments prefaced by remarks to the effect of "I'm an engineer and I don't believe in anthropogenic global warming because it's all theoretical..." Some of these folks even refer to backgrounds in aerospace. Is this a recent and possibly uniquely American phenomenon?

I ran across this little snippet in a NASA history narrative today:

"The classical education Frank Toscelli received in Italy, in the region where Roman legions defended the empire two millennia before, was an education rare [125] among American engineers. It had evolved from the Renaissance ideal of liberal learning, a process which cultivated all aspects of the human intellect, physical attributes, and creative sensibilities. "In my time," he remembers, high school students studied philosophy, Latin, Greek, two modern languages, and ancient and modern history. "We had to study Italian literature, European literature; we read Shakespeare" and "took courses in translation." Electives were unheard of: a liberal learning and a full science curriculum "provided that background which would permit" students "to reason, synthesize, to analyze a problem, and then," with such tools, to become an engineer. The Renaissance text for the worthy life submerged the harsh distinction perpetuated by Plutarch between men who work with their minds and men who work with their hands, men who understand nature and men who manipulate nature for practical ends. Through the slow and intermittent deterioration of legal class distinctions in Europe, the nature of one's work would persist as a more subtle means of announcing one's standing in the world.