2011-03-07 11:28:32Help with addressing a climate skeptic university lecturer
yocta

gregory.staib@gmail...

Hi SkS experts!

I was wondering if I could get some help from somebody more experienced in the debunking department. I have a situation where I believe that a lecturer at Newcastle University in Australia  (name Dr Rob Atkin) is introducing grossly bad skeptic climate 'science' into his lectures and I want to know the best way to address it.

First I should introduce myself as I am new to the SkS forums. My name is Greg (username here is yocta) and I am doing a PhD in Physics/Physical Chemistry in Adsorption of Mixed Gases (which is a fancy way of saying gas storage and gas separation). I am enrolled through Griffith University in Brisbane but am actually based at the CSIRO Energy Centre in Newcastle. I do lab demonstrating for first year physics at Newcastle Unviversity though.

Now, to my skeptic situation:

A friend was telling me how her friend thought climate change wasn't real and after a few questions it was from a lecture presented by Dr Rob Atkin that made her change her mind.

I have obtained a copy of the lecture notes in question of Dr Rob Atkin which from slide 7 onwards are cringeworthy to my eye (expeicially the WUWT material).

I don't know how to upload files on this forum but I have uploaded a .zip file here (password on zip file is "qwerty") for anyone's perusal:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/nfunz7

Now, the situation gets a bit more complicated. My friend's girlfriend emailed the department t head (A/Prof Hugh Dunstan) to complain about the content of the material (I don't have a copy of the letter she sent) and here is the details of the correspondance:

================================================

Dear Professor Dunstan.
Please find attached my letter, along with a pdf copy of the CHEM2610
lecture that I refer to in the letter.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Kind regards,

Zoe Rogers

Here is the reply:

Dear Zoe,