2010-12-14 04:37:00CH4 and CO2
Bob Guercio
Robert Guercio
robertguercio@optonline...

Hi All,

I started studying climate change about six months ago but it is a very confusing subject.  I feel like I am constantly reinventing the wheel.  

It is my understanding that a molecule of methane absorbs much less infrared radiation than one of carbon dioxide.  There is also much less methane in the environment than CO2. So why is CO2 such a problem?

It is such a problem because there is so much less of it.  It takes much less CH4 to double the concentration than that of CO2.

Is my understanding of this correct?

Thank you,

Bob 

2010-12-14 05:40:36
Rob Painting
Rob
paintingskeri@vodafone.co...

Bob, that's not right. Methane is a far more powerful greenhouse gas than carbon dioxide (approx 25 times). It atmospheric lifetime is around 10-12 years before it breaks down to CO2. You are right however, about the fact that because the levels of methane in the atmosphere are low it takes much less of any extra methane to double it's concentration. 

Then of course there is all that methane locked up in the permafrost and as clathrates at the bottom of the oceans. 

2010-12-14 11:42:10
Bob Guercio
Robert Guercio
Hi Rob, You're probably correct because that is what was stated on the "Science of Doom" website. The reason I thought differently was because of the following graph which I must be misinterpreting. I noticed the absorption spectrums of both carbon dioxide and methane. As I see it, there is more area under the curve of the absorption spectrum for CO2 than for CH4. How should I be interpreting this figure. Thank you, Bob
2010-12-14 14:57:35
Bob Guercio
Robert Guercio

Rob,

I think that I am correct.

Please go here:  

Methane/Carbon Dioxide

I went to David Archer's site and confirmed that methane is actually weaker molecule for molecule than carbon dioxide.

Bob 

2010-12-14 18:23:11
Rob Painting
Rob